25,000+ Courses Nationwide
0345 4506120

Which ITIL Intermediate Modules Should I Choose?

The  ITILv3 Qualification structure was launched in 2007 and refined in 2011.  Over 1,000,000 have now completed the new Foundation Certificate.

At the higher level are two streams of modular courses which each represent a certificate in their own right - and also provide credits towards the ITIL Expert award.

To receive the ITIL Expert award you will need 22 credits. The Foundation Certificate provides 2 credits and the final summary course "Managing Across the Lifecycle" provides 5.  Both of these courses are mandatory, so unless you have version 2 Practitioner qualifications you will be looking to gain at least 15 credits from the Intermediate courses.

There are 9 Intermediate courses organised into two streams - "Lifecycle" and "Capability".  It is possible to Pick and Mix - but which should you choose?!


[See the Focus guide “ITIL Qualifications Explained” for full details about ITIL training]


Why Two Streams?

The 4 Capability Certificates focus on specific ITIL processes so are more akin to the clustered Practitioner certificates which existed under the version 2 qualification structure. As such they are most useful to those who will be taking part in the day to day practical activities described within each of the processes.

The 5 Lifecycle Certificates mirror the 5 core ITIL manuals.  They address the aspects of ITIL from a holistic, lifecycle perspective.  As such they may be more suited to those with managerial responsibility looking at the overall IT Service Management picture.  The Service Strategy course in particular is very much rooted in the broader corporate strategy and governance environment.


What are the Courses?

Capability Stream:  (4 Credits Each)

1. Operational Support & Analysis (OSA)
Event, Incident, Request, Problem, Access, Service Desk, Technical, IT Ops and Application Mgt

2. Service Offerings & Agreements (SOA)
Portfolio, Service Level, Catalogue. Demand, Supplier and Financial Management

3. Release, Control & Validation (RCV)
Change, Release &   Deployment, Validation & Testing, Service Asset & Configuration, Knowledge, Request Management and Service Evaluation

4. Planning, Protection & Optimisation (PPO)
Capacity, Availability, Continuity, Security, Demand and Risk Management

Lifecycle Stream:  (3 Credits Each)

5. Service Strategy
Service Strategy Principles; Defining Services & Markets; Strategic Assessments; Financial Mgt; Service Portfolio Mgt; Managing Demand; Strategy through the Lifecycle; Critical Success Factors & Risks

6. Service Design
Design Principles; Design Processes; Design Technology Related Activities; Organising for Service Design; Technology; Implementation & Improvement

7. Service Transition
Service Transition Principles; Mgt of Activities; Communications; Commitment & Organisational Change; Organising Service Transition; Control & Co-ordination; Selection of Implementation Approaches; Critical Success Factors & Risks

8. Service Operation
Service Operation Principles; Processes; Activities; Organisation & Functions; Technology; Implementation; Critical Success Factors & Risks

9. Continual Service Improvement
Service Improvement Principles; Processes; Methods& Techniques; Organisation; Technology; Implementation; Critical Success Factors & Risks


Where’s The Overlap?

You may choose to select your optional modules from just one “stream”.  If you do not, then you need to understand where there are areas of overlap.  The following matrix highlights the main areas of overlap and indicates where key ITIL processes are covered:

ITIL Intermediate Overlap 


Watch Out! When Assessing you for the ITIL Expert award the accreditation authority will not accept credits which they consider to be "double counted" (those marked "Much Overlap" in the chart above are discouraged - and some combinations involving old Practitioner certificates are barred).


Our Suggestion

Focus recommends that you steer towards one of the 6 combinations shown in the chart below:
Step 1:
If your requirements are entirely “operational” or entirely “managerial”, choose either the full set from either the Capability or Lifecycle streams accordingly (ie Options 1 or 2)
Step 2:
If not, concentrate on deciding which of the Capability courses are most relevant to you.  Once you have decided this then use the suggested options to offer a good mix of ITIL topics

There is a useful “Credit Profiler”tool on the APMG website which you can use to explore your options.  This also explains credits available for those who have passed v2 Practitioner exams.

Remember!  Once you have completed the mix of Intermediate modules you will need to take the Managing Across the Lifecycle course and exam to become an ITIL Expert.
ITIL Intermediate Courses – Suggested Combinations to Achieve ITIL Expert Qualification

itil intermediate options



We work with the best