25,000+ Courses Nationwide
0345 4506120

BCS Practitioner Certificate in Information Assurance (IA) Architecture

Course Details

Name BCS Practitioner Certificate in Information Assurance (IA) Architecture
Virtual Classroom
Start Date:
Working Days:
£2989.00 +vat
Course ID:


The PCIAA Training Certificate Information Assurance Architecture is based on a set of skills defined by the Institute of Information Security Professionals (IISP) and the UK Government’s GCHQ department. The IA Architect, also referred to in industry as the Security Architect must be able to drive beneficial security change into an organisation through the development or review of security architectures so that they:

– Meet business requirements for security.

– Mitigate identified risks and conform to relevant corporate security policies.

– Balance information risk against the cost of countermeasures


12-month BCS Associate membership (not available to previous members). Click here for terms and conditions.

Learning Objectives

Candidates that have successfully completed the Practitioner in IA Architecture course should be able to:

  • Describe the business environment and the information risks that apply to systems.
  • Describe and apply security design principles
  • Identify information risks that arise from potential solution architectures
  • Design alternate architectures or countermeasures to mitigate identified information risks
  • Ensure that proposed architectures and countermeasures adequately mitigate identified information risks
  • Apply ‘standard’ security techniques and architectures to mitigate security risks
  • Develop new architectures that mitigate the risks posed by new technologies and business practices
  • Provide consultancy and advice to explain Information Assurance and architectural problems
  • Securely configure ICT systems in compliance with their approved security architectures


There are no formal entry requirements for candidates taking the examination for the Practitioner Certificate in Security Architect.

However, candidates will require a broad understanding of all aspects of Information Security and Information Assurance equivalent to the BCS Certificate in Information Security Management Principles (CISMP).

Candidates will also need practical experience of the areas of expertise covered within the syllabus.

Course Content

  • Module 1 – The Basics of IA Architecture
  • Module 2 – Advanced Security Architecture Concepts
  • Module 3 – Information Assurance Methodologies
  • Module 4 – Innovation and Business Improvement
  • Module 5 – Security Across the Lifecycle
  • Module 6 – Preparation for the IA Architecture Examination

Please note: all classroom-based courses are run on working days only unless otherwise stated.

Virtual Classroom

What format is the exam?

  • Two hour ‘closed book’
  • Two sections with 85 multiple choice questions (section A: 60 questions, section B: five scenarios, with five questions per scenario)
  • Pass mark is 65% (81/125)

We work with the best