25,000+ Courses Nationwide
0345 4506120

BCS Practitioner Certificate in Data Protection

The BCS Practitioner Certificate in Data Protection course is a comprehensive 5 day course that explores the nature of privacy and its relevance to today’s society.

The implications surrounding improper disclosure or leakage to individuals and organisations have never been greater, with the need to ensure compliance of the Data Protection Act 1998 at an all time high.

The BCS Certificate in Data Protection provides an entry point qualification for those with data protection responsibilities. It provides an effective conversion route for those needing to update their knowledge of and practice under the 1998 Data Protection Act.

The course is classroom based with workshops.

Target Audience:


IT Managers, IT Consultants, Legal and HR specialists.

Select specific date to see price, venue and full details.

Learning Objectives

Successful delegates will be able to:

  • Understand the broader context of the Act, its origins and the reasons for data protection legislation
  • Understanding how to apply the data protection principles and the standards the Act promotes to given sets of circumstances
  • Understand the way in which the Data Protection Act works
  • Gain a broad understanding of what has to be done to achieve compliance.



Course Content

1. Context:
- What is Privacy?
- History & Origins

2. Law:
- Definitions
- Notifications
- The 8 Principles
- Individual Rights
- Exemptions

3. Criminal Offences:
- Application
- Compliance
- Case Studies
- Codes of Practice

4. Related legislation & regulations:
- Privacy & Communications Reg’s
- Computer Misuse Act 1990 (CMA)
- Defamation Act
- Freedom of Information Acts
- Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000 (RIPA)

Exams & Certification

This course prepares delegate to take the BCS Certificate in Data Protection.

Many courses include a revision day and the exam itself which is taken on a date determined by the BCS.  Check the details against a specific date and location since this is not always the case.

The examination is a three hour closed-book examination comprising three sections.

There is a a balance of questions across the syllabus.

Section A: 20 multiple choice questions (1 mark each). All questions to be attempted.
Section B: 8 short answer bullet point questions (5 marks each). All questions to be attempted.
Section C: 6 essay style questions (10 marks each). 4 questions to be attempted.

The pass mark is 50 out of 100 (50%)

Distinctions will be awarded to candidates who achieve 80 or more (80%).

Related Courses

Privacy Notice

In order to provide you with the service requested we will need to retain and use your contact information in accordance with our Privacy Notice. If you choose to provide us with this information you explicitly consent to us using the information as necessary to provide the requested service to you. If you do not agree please do not proceed to request the service from us.

Marketing Permissions

Would you like to receive our newsletter and other information on products and services which we think will be of interest to you by email. We will always treat your information with care and in accordance with our Privacy Notice. You are free to withdraw this permission at any time.


We work with the best