0345 4506120

BCS Practitioner Certificate in Business Continuity Management

The Practitioner Certificate in Business Continuity Management (PCiBCM) course is designed to provide a hands-on approach to all stages of the business continuity management (BCM) lifecycle from conducting a business impact analysis to the exercising of business continuity plans.

Making full use of current standards (including ISO 22301), students are able to make a significant contribution to the BCM process when returning to their organisation. The PCiBCM course and associated qualification provides the opportunity for those already serving as business continuity professionals to enhance or refresh their knowledge and, in the process, gain a recognised industry qualification, regulated by the British Computer Society (BCS).

This is useful to both the individual and the employer in terms of attesting to the level of professional ability an individual has attained.

The PCiBCM course primes the student with all the knowledge needed to sit the BCS’s PCiBCM examination.


12-month BCS Associate membership (not available to previous members). Click here for terms and conditions.


Learning Objectives

The certificate in Business Continuity Management is intended for (but not limited to) those who are involved in the areas of business continuity and disaster recovery. It will provide guidance to the student in good business continuity management practice, and assist the path to BS 25999 accreditation.

The course consists of 8 modules:

  •   Module 1 – Introduction to Business Continuity Management
  •   Module 2 – Business Continuity Programme Management
  •   Module 3 – Understanding the Organisation
  •   Module 4 – Determining the Business Continuity strategy
  •   Module 5 – Business Continuity Response
  •   Module 6 – Exercising, maintenance and review
  •   Module 7 - Embedding Business Continuity Awareness
  •   Module 8 - Preparation for the PCiBCM Examination and Mock Exam Assessment

At the end of each module the student can undertake an assessment to assess their understanding of the information provided in that module and to see if the objectives of the module have been met. Each topic also contains a quiz that enables a student to test their knowledge of the information covered in that topic. At the end of the course, an online examination is provided that prepares the student for taking the official BCS PCiBCM examination.


There are no formal entry requirements but candidates will require an understanding of information assurance and basic risk management practices.

Course Content

Module 1:

  •   Introduction to Business Continuity Management
  •   The need for business continuity management
  •   The context of business continuity management in the business
  •   Review of risk management fundamentals
  •   The business continuity lifecycle

Module 2:

  •   Business Continuity Programme Management
  •   Business continuity policy
  •   Business continuity governance
  •   Business continuity implementation
  •   Ongoing business continuity management
  •   Involvement of third parties
  •   Business continuity documentation

Module 3:

  •   Understanding the Organisation
  •   Identification of mission-critical areas and
  •   Business Impact Analysis (BIA)
  •   Continuity Requirements Analysis (CRA)
  •   Evaluation of threats and risk assessment
  •   Evaluation of options and business cases

Module 4:

  •   Determining the Business Continuity Strategy
  •   Identifying and selecting strategies
  •   People
  •   Premises
  •   Information and communications technology
  •   Information
  •   Supply chain and stakeholders
  •   Civil emergencies

Module 5:

  •   Business Continuity Response
  •   The Incident management process
  •   Types of plan, including incident management,
  •   business continuity, disaster recovery and business resumption plans

Module 6:

  •   Exercising, Maintenance and Review
  •   Exercising and testing of plans
  •   Maintenance and review of plans

Module 7:

  •   Embedding Business Continuity Awareness
  •   Overall awareness
  •   Skills training

Module 8:

  •   Preparation for the PCiBCM Examination
  •   Format, structure and scoring of the exam
  •   Mock examination

Exam - A three-hour scenario based written examination consisting of:

  •   Part A: 10 multiple-choice questions (1 mark each) - answer all questions
  •   Part B: 6 Compulsory short narrative questions (5 marks each) - answer all questions.
  •   Part C: 3 Compulsory essay style questions. (20 marks each) – answer all questions

Privacy Notice

In order to provide you with the service requested we will need to retain and use your contact information in accordance with our Privacy Notice. If you choose to provide us with this information you explicitly consent to us using the information as necessary to provide the requested service to you. If you do not agree please do not proceed to request the service from us.

Marketing Permissions

Would you like to receive our newsletter and other information on products and services which we think will be of interest to you by email. We will always treat your information with care and in accordance with our Privacy Notice. You are free to withdraw this permission at any time.


Our Customers Include