0345 4506120

BCI CBCI Certification

This course is our enhanced version of the CBCI Certification Course, which teaches you the methods, techniques and approaches used by business continuity professionals worldwide to develop, implement and maintain an effective Business Continuity Management (BCM) programme, and prepares you to take the BCI’s CBCI examination.

Our Training Partner was the first company to run BCI Certification courses, and has been doing so successfully for over ten years. This is a new version of the course to align with GPG 2018.

This enhanced version provides delegates with the opportunity to put the theory into practice through the use of case studies, and to practice answering the type of questions used in the CBCI examination, including taking two mock examinations.

These are only available to delegates who undertake this training course. 

The course is split into 6 modules, which are designed both to provide a thorough revision of BC best practice, and also to prepare delegates to sit the BCI Certificate exam.

The course will benefit anyone who would like to gain a formal qualification in Business Continuity Management. The course and exam are best suited to those who already have some practical knowledge of and experience in BC.

Who Should Attend This Course?

  • Those reponsible for Business Continuity Management or Organisational Resilience in their organisation.
  • Anyone who would like to gain a formal qualification in Business Continuity Management.

About the Course

The BCI Good Practice Guidelines Training and Exam course is 5 days long - 4 days of training, followed by the exam on the fifth day. The course is classroom based and is runs in our three main training locations in London, Manchester, and the Cotswolds. We can also run the course in-house at the premises of your choice.

Each course is run by one of our BCI approved tutors, who have all reached at least MBCI status and have many years’ experience across a broad range of sectors.

Select specific date to see price, venue and full details.

Learning Objectives

Course Objectives

Gain a solid knowledge and understanding of the BCI’s Good Practice Guidelines

Gain the expertise required to practice business continuity

Be thoroughly prepared to take the CBCI examination

Gain practical insight into good business continuity practice

Benefit from the knowledge of and lessons learned by experienced business continuity practitioners

Course Content

What the Course Covers

• Module One (21%) - Policy and Programme Management

• Module Two (8%) - Embedding Business Continuity

• Module Three (17%) - Analysis

• Module Four (17%) - Design

• Module Five (19%) - Implementation

• Module Six (18%) - Validation

Module 1: Policy & Programme Management

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Describe the stages of the BCM Lifecycle.

• Explain how to create or revise a BC policy.

• Define the scope of the BC programme.

• Describe the approach to establishing governance of the BC programme.

• Understand the process of assigning roles and responsibilities within the BC programme.

• Describe the activities that make up the BC programme and explain how the programme can be managed and implemented effectively.

Module 2: Embedding Business Continuity

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Understand and influence organizational culture for successful embedding of business continuity.

• Define the competencies and skills requirements for those involved in business continuity.

• Coordinate training and awareness activities as part of embedding business continuity.

Module 3: Analysis

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Describe the purpose and importance of the business impact analysis (BIA).

• Explain the different types of BIA and the associated activities.

• Undertake a BIA.

• Understand the risk and threat assessment as part of the BC programme.

Module 4: Design

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Describe the approach to designing BC solutions.

• Describe the different types of BC solutions.

• Understand the resource requirements for BC solutions.

• Define the purpose of evaluating, and risk and threat mitigation measures.

Module 5: Implementation

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Describe the purpose of establishing an effective response structure.

• Develop and manage a business continuity plan (BCP).

• Understand the key characteristics of strategic, tactical and operational-level plans.

Module 6: Validation

At the end of this module you will be able to:

• Explain the purpose and process of developing an exercise programme.

• Identify different types of exercises and differentiate between them in terms of scale and complexity.

• Develop, run, and evaluate an exercise.

• Assess the maintenance activities required within the BC programme.

• Define the purpose and describe the process and outcomes of the various methods of review of the BC programme.

Frequently Asked Questions

When should I arrive on the first day?

Please aim for a 9.00 arrival for a 9.30 start.

When does the exam finish on the last day?

The exam generally starts between 12.00 and 13.00 and lasts two hours. For safety’s sake when planning travel arrangements, we recommend basing your plans on a 15.30 finish.

Are refreshments provided?

Coffee, tea, and lunch are provided. If you have any specific dietary requirements, please let us know when placing your booking.

Is accommodation included?

Accommodation is available at our Cotswolds venue, Three Ways House, on a fullboard basis. We can also arrange pre-course accommodation at this venue. We can recommend accommodation for our other venues on request.

Exams & Certification

The figures speak for themselves:

98.1% pass rate

75.1% pass with merit

Exam Preparation

Before the exam, the tutor will use the results of the second mock exam to help you target specific areas to revise in order to ensure you are as ready as possible to take the exam successfully.

CBCI Examination

The CBCI Examination consists of 120 multiple choice questions. The exam is 2 hours long. The exam is scored out of 500 with a pass mark of 380 and a Merit threshold of 425. The different grades confer different benefits:

• Pass - entitled to use CBCI post-nominal.

Pass plus sufficient experience in the BC field - entitled to apply for Associate MBCI status.

Merit plus sufficient experience in the BC field - entitled to apply for MBCI status.

The exam is usually taken on the afternoon of the fifth day of the course, following revision in the morning. It starts at approximately 13.00. You may also take the exam online via the BCI at a later date.

The paper exam is currently available in English; other languages will be made available by the BCI soon.

The exam is graded and your results emailed 4-6 weeks after completion. A pass is valid for three years.


The CBCI Exam is based entirely on your knowledge of the BCI Good Practice Guidelines, making it required reading for the exam and preceding course. We recommend reading as much as possible prior to attending.

Related Courses

Privacy Notice

In order to provide you with the service requested we will need to retain and use your contact information in accordance with our Privacy Notice. If you choose to provide us with this information you explicitly consent to us using the information as necessary to provide the requested service to you. If you do not agree please do not proceed to request the service from us.

Marketing Permissions

Would you like to receive our newsletter and other information on products and services which we think will be of interest to you by email. We will always treat your information with care and in accordance with our Privacy Notice. You are free to withdraw this permission at any time.


Our Customers Include