SFIA Version 6 – What’s New?

SFIA maps IT competencies to job roles and to qualifications. Used by many leading organisations as a foundation for their skills programmes, the framework was refreshed in July 2015. The number of Skills increased by just one – but there were other refinements across the framework.

SFIA has been adopted by organisations in 200 countries to provide a common language to describe the skills and responsibilities of IT professionals. Individuals and teams can assess their own competencies. Companies can define job roles and organisational structures. Governments can identify skills gaps and development programmes.

Responsibility for SFIA rests with the SFIA Foundation. This has 5 corporate members including the BCS, itSMF and the Tech Partnership.

Version 6 includes incremental changes based on consultation which has been ongoing through the past 18 months. The broad structure of Categories, Sub-categories and Skills is maintained.

With the inclusion of new, removed and/or consolidated skills the total number of SFIA skills is now 97 (SFIAv5 contained 96). In summary:

New Skills

  • Digital forensics
  • Hardware design
  • IT strategy and planning
  • Penetration testing
  • Performance management
  • Product management
  • Sourcing

Name changes

12 Changes including:

  • Financial management previously Financial Management for IT
  • IT infrastructure previously IT operations
  • Digital marking previously Marketing

New levels for existing skills

  • Information security – level 7 descriptor
  • Research – level 2 descriptor
  • Data management – level 2 & 3 descriptors
  • Portfolio, programme and project support – level 6 descriptor
  • Security administration – level 1 & 2 descriptors
  • Resourcing – level 4 descriptor

Retired and consolidated

  • Software development process improvement – amendments made to Systems development management
  • Human factors integration – merged with User experience evaluation
  • Technology audit – merged with Conformance review
  • Procurement – content merged to form the new skill Sourcing
  • Supplier relationship management – content merged to form new skill Sourcing
  • Account management – content merged into Relationship management

More about SFIA